The Regional Development Council 1 (RDC-1) confirmed  the Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) to the Council during its Special Meeting on September 1, 2022.   The RDC-PSRs shall serve as members of the Council for the period 2022 to 2025 to represent the interests of the private sector in the area of regional development.

The Regional Development Council 1 – Private Sector Representatives take their oath of office during the RDC-1 Special Meeting on September 1, 2022 via Zoom Videoconferencing. (Not in the picture is Mr. John Kambiak Chan Jr. who will take his oath during the next RDC-1 Full Council meeting)

The inclusion of the PSRs in the RDC is in consonance with Executive Order No. 325, s. 1996 which prescribes that the PSRs shall compose 25 percent of the fully constituted Council.  The PSRs were selected based on the guidelines and procedures approved by RDC-1 through Resolution No. 55, S. 2022. 

There were 20 Private Sector Organizations which adhered to the RDC-1’s call for submission of PSO Profiles.  The PSOs were screened and evaluated based on the following criteria:   socio-economic activities conducted (40%), volunteer activities initiated (35%); and active and functional internal operations (25%).  The RDC-1 Secretariat’s evaluation resulted to 12 PSOs qualified to the next phase of the selection process which is the submission of PSR nominees. 

Of the total 12 PSR nominees submitted by their respective Private Sector Organizations (PSOs), eight qualified based on the following criteria:  engagement on socio-economic activities (35%), participation in voluntary economic, social, and/or humanitarian development projects or activities (35%), and leadership and professional abilities (30%). 

The eight qualified nominees completed the line-up of sectoral PSRs, namely:  Mr. Tommy T. Valdez (San Roque Foundation Inc.) for the Environment Sector, Ms. Mary Jane C. Ortega  (Lorma Community Development Foundation, Inc.) and Mr. John Kambiak Chan Jr. (Chamber of Real Estate Builders Association) for the Social Sector, Ms. Divina C. Quemi (Nueva Segovia Consortium of Cooperatives) and Mr. Romulus S. Arcano (Suyo Multi-purpose Cooperative) for the Economic Sector, Mr. Larry L. Cabatic (Council for the Restoration of Filipino Values) and Mr. Carl F. Martos (Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants) for the Governance Sector, and Mr. Dwayne Gauis R. Japson (United Architects of the Philippines) for the Infrastructure Sector. 

Furthermore, the National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC) endorsed Ms. Evelina M. Tan (Liwawa Ed Asinan Foundation, Inc.) as the PSR for the basic sector. On the other hand, the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) Region 1 endorsed Mr. Arnel C.Nicdao (Samahan ng mga Roteros ng Carlatan)  as the PSR for the labor sector.  The remaining RDC-1 PSRs include the geographic representatives endorsed by their respective Provincial Development Councils, namely:  Mr. Michael C. Mahor (Praise Ilocos Sur United, Inc.) for Ilocos Sur,  Mr. Racky D. Doctor (Pangasinan Entrepreneurs Development Association, Inc.) for Pangasinan, and Mr. Eduardo Regala (La Union Alliance of Travel and Tour Agencies) for La Union.  The province of Ilocos Norte is still in the process of selecting its  PSR.

Director Nestor G. Rillon, RDC-1 Vice-Chairperson, administered the oath taking of the 13  RDC-PSRs during the RDC Special meeting. The PSRs will join their respective RDC-1 Sectoral Committees starting in their 3rd Quarter reorganization meetings. The PSRs will also be joining the other committees of RDC-1.